July 31, 2014

Truth or Consequences: La Choy Soy Sauce

La Choy Soy Sauce

La Choy Soy Sauce

La Choy Soy Sauce

Is it Gluten Free?

___  Yes!
___   No!
___  I’m afraid to find out!

Post your answer in the comments below.  We’ll let you know how you did!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


  1. I know this one! It’s gluten free!

  2. It might be gluten-free, but it is a sad excuse for soy sauce. Soy sauce should be made from soy beans, not hydrolyzed soy protein, corn syrup, and caramel color. Nasty stuff. San-J Wheat-Free Tamari is worth finding.

  3. Another slightly unusual one here…
    I completely agree with Patti – San-J Wheat-Free Tamari is pretty darn good soy sauce and it IS gluten free. We use it all the time in our home.
    Now quality and flavor issues aside, the most official word is that La Choy is in fact gluten free. HOWEVER, lot’s of celiac’s report getting sick from it. Check out the most helpful forums at http://www.celiac.com for more detail on that. Not sure what the issue is there – perhaps its a very slight cross contamination issue from production of La Choy. I’ve run into a number of foods that are gluten free that make me sick – mainly due to processing on shared facilities at the point of manufacture.
    Thanks for the insights and join us next time for Truth or Consequences!

  4. GF but not very tasty… I’ve not had problems with it but never had too much at one time. I typically by a bottle a grocery, take it to a sushi bar and leave whatever is left (almost all) behind. Wasteful but beats eating some of it dry!

  5. Elsie Armitage says:

    yes, it is gf

  6. Usually regular soy sauce contains gluten, I think.
    YES,La choy soy sauce is gluten free.

  7. I’ll buy San-J. Thanks

  8. I get sick from la choy soy sauce, so even if it claims to be gluten free I will not eat it. I have found that other celiacs react to it too. So NO not gluten free even if they claim it is!

  9. I too have gotten sick from eating La Choy soy sauce – I think it is the caramel coloring in this product, which is a no-no for those of us suffering from celiac disease.

  10. Didn’t La Choy USED to be labeled GF? Now it’s not… Which I’m worried means that they’ve stopped testing or may be using the same lines to produce their non-GF products.

  11. They say it is but I’m currently having a gluten reaction to it. I will not be using it again!

  12. They say its GF but used it last night and felt bad enough today to research it more in depth! I would watch out for this one! Made my anxiety go through the roof!

  13. Michelle says:

    I have not been diagnosed celiac, but cannot tolerate even 20ppm of gluten. I just had La Choy and within 15min started experiencing symptoms. Blech.

  14. Johne725 says:

    I got what you intend, thankyou for putting up.Woh I am glad to find this website through google. It is a very hard undertaking to seek to please everybody. by Publilius Syrus. kedkebkddgfe

Speak Your Mind